Ferrari retains Kimi Raikkonen for 2016

Reportedly, many believed that the Finn would be replaced for next season by Williams driver Valtteri Botas, or Force India driver Nico Hulkenburg.

In a statement made earlier today, the Maranello-based team confirmed that they would keep Raikkonen for next season, and have renewed their “technical and racing agreement” with him, who will remain as team-mate to Sebastian Vettel.

What can I say… For me, to be able to stay another year at Ferrari means that the dream goes on“, commented the 2007 World Champion.

The Scuderia is my family, as I always said, it’s here I want to end my career.

I am more committed than ever, and I want to say thank you to the people who gave me this chance. Also, a big thank you goes to all my Ferrari fans, for their continuous support.”

The team principal of Scuderia Ferrari, Maurizio Arrivabene also commented : “We believe that extending Kimi’s contract into the next season will provide further stability to the team. This has been our guideline, also considering the very good relationship between Kimi and Seb. On our side, this shows our great confidence in him, and I expect this confidence to be rewarded.”

This deal comes at an important time for Raikkonen- with the Belgian Grand Prix this weekend, taking place at Spa, he is finally able to relax, and focus on his driving more, the decision having been made.

Do you think Kimi was right to be offered a placement with Ferrari for next season? Comment below what your thoughts are.

Leave a Reply

