Vasseur’s departure ‘hard to accept’ for Hulkenberg

New Renault driver Nico Hulkenberg is not happy that former Renault team principal Frederic Vasseur is stepping down before Hulkenberg gets to drive for the team, according to the Frenchman.

Vasseur had been one of the reasons for Hulkenberg’s choice to move to Renault for 2017, when he opted to leave Force India.

This was the hardest part of my decision, because I am close to Nico and I put a lot of efforts in getting him drive for Renault,” the former Renault team principal spoke.

Nico and I talked a lot about my decision. He’s been very supportive. My decision was hard for him to accept, but he is fully involved and he will give his best.

“The team is being restructured and for me it was important to have a leader.

“Whatever may happen, Nico will act as a leader and pull the team forward. I think it’s a crucial factor in the success of a team.

That’s a reason why I wanted him in the team,” he added.

I think he’s one of the most talented drivers I’ve seen in the junior series for the past 10 years.

“Only three drivers captured the GP2 title in their rookie season: Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg and Nico Hulkenberg. I think Nico is one of the few drivers who can win the world championship.

Concerning his own future, Vasseur also reported that he planned to follow Formula E and would continue to run the ART GP2 team.

As far as Formula One is concerned, we’ll see what the future holds,” he spoke.

Leave a Reply

